Reviews

Read View reviews: in  
Click to see our Facebook reviews

Latest Review

5 Stars
We had such an amazing experience with The Lyceum and with Cynthia, Sheila and the entire team. Cynthia was always there for us when we had a question, and she made the whole process seamless. Everyone still continues to tell us how beautiful the venue was, and how gorgeous the stained glass windows are. It truly is breathtaking and certainly a one of a kind venue.
Christopher Miller – 1/17/21

5 Stars
I had a small gathering for a staff party. It was a perfect evening! From the time I made the reservation to the actual day they were so helpful in making it happen. Laylon went over and above to make sure I was happy with the set up , she was available and accommodating. Wonderful evening, I will consider this venue for future events!
Corinne Rhoades – 12/16/2020

5 Stars
My daughter had her wedding here in September. The facility was beautiful and everything went perfect. I could not have been happier with the service provided to us. I love that the staff assisted us with all our questions and concerns. I will definitely recommend this venue!
Michele Riggs – 12/11/2020


All our reviews from our website, Facebook, and  The Knot accounts have been gathered and posted together here. (If you have submitted a review and do not see it, please contact us!)

Beautiful Venue – No Need For Decorations!
The Lyceum was hands down the best venue we could have chosen. Cynthia and her team are pros. Very willing to work with you to make your dream wedding come true. Any ideas you have, she can help you figure out if it will work and how. We went with an all indoors set up without having to do a room flip. It couldn’t have been any more beautiful. We didnt need any decorations except for tables and chairs because the building itself is so beautiful. I got a countless amount of compliments on my choice of venue and I think I will continue to receive them for a long while.
Marissa S – posted 12/4/2019 via The Knot


Relaxing Wedding Venue
Cynthia and Sheila were so wonderful! I got a prompt response for every question I had (which was a ton) and they did not miss one single detail with the venue and our vendors. I stumbled on this venue online right before I booked a different one way further from home and the pricing and beauty cannot be beat. W for married at 4pm and the light through the stained glass was a fairytale to marry the man of my dreams in. I was nervous about flipping the room between the ceremony and reception, but they were so fast at getting it done that it made it easy to relax!
Meagan W – posted 12/2/2019 via The Knot


I highly recommend Cynthia and her crew at the Lyceum of Galveston Island they went above and beyond to make our big day special and perfect in every way.


Beautiful Space
This is a beautiful space! Cynthia was amazing at answering all our questions and giving advice on how we could make the most of the space on our big day. We were even able to have a little extra help the day of that wasn’t expected but was a great help! Our wedding had approx. 100 people and there was plenty of room. The outdoor courtyard space is great for kids to play or for guests to get fresh air. This is an affordable venue for the DIY bride and your photos and video will turn out beautiful.
Ronna C. – posted 9/9/2019 via The Knot


Nice and Responsive Staff
Beautiful wedding venue in Galveston! We had the best time at our wedding there! The venue was well kept and the staff were very nice and responsive.
posted 08/24/2019 by Sarah B via The Knot


Stunning location
I fell in love at first sight. Built in 1850 and floor to ceiling stained glass windows will draw you in. So happy to be working with cynthia who has so much knowledge on the history of the lyceum and has been absolutely a dream to work with, very kind and responds quickly.

Carmelita Margarita,

Excellent Service
Wonderful people, wonderful service and a beautiful facility! They work endlessly to provide you with the best service possible. I am very grateful of your staff on my wedding day- due to my unfortunate events that unfolded at my [original] ceremony venue [at another Galveston location].  I can never thank you or Brenda enough for your kindness during this process and especially Brenda on my horriffic wedding day. Thank you both for all you have done for us since the beginning. The Lyceum was a beautiful venue & we were so happy to have been married there!
~ With Love and Gratitude,
Shelley Mason, Married 12/1/2018


Best venue in Galveston
If you are looking for a beautiful, budget-friendly venue in the Houston/Galveston area…look no further!! Both Cynthia and Brenda are responsive, helpful, and easy to work with. Brenda helped our rehearsal and wedding run smoothly. My husband and I fell in love with the floor-to-ceiling stained glass windows the moment we walked in. The place is full of romantic style and historic charm!
MacKinsey, Married on 10/20/2018
Sent on 11/06/2018


This venue is breath taking! From the moment we walked in we knew this was it. Cynthia and Brenda are amazing and helpful. They answered all questions and emails promptly and were available when we wanted to do my bridals and the rehearsal. The day of Brenda was there to open the doors and helped with setup and take down. We received so many comments on how beautiful the venue was. The pictures turn out so well with all the stained glass. Can’t recommend this venue enough!
Eryn, Married on 9/29/2018
Sent on 10/08/2018


Absolutely Amazing! The building is so beautiful that you don’t have to bring in a lot of extra decorations. The stained glass is great for pictures. It is easy to get answers through phone or email. Brenda helps make your day go as planned and knows how to work the building. I am so happy that she was there for us. I am actually sad that I don’t have a reason to go back to The Lyceum. I would marry the building if I wouldn’t have just got married!
Kristen H, Married on 04/20/2018


The Lyceum was BEAUTIFUL and the process was easy. I had originally booked another venue until I saw this place, but after seeing it I could not pass it up. Because it is already so pretty, it required little effort in decorating. My wedding was on a Saturday, and Cynthia had told us that if no one had booked a wedding the friday before within 6 weeks of the wedding we could use the venue for the rehearsal at no extra cost. This was truly a blessing. Would recommend this place!
Hannah W, Married on 6/15/2018


Beautiful Venue! My son and his husband had their wedding at the Lyceum in June and everything about this venue was perfect. The inside is gorgeous with all of the stained glass. The outside is great with the gazebo. We just loved Cynthia from the beginning. She was so nice and was always helpful and replied fast to every question. She worked very hard to make sure the lights outside were set up for the wedding and they were perfect. Brenda was so helpful on the day of the ceremony. She was really nice and helped us make sure all was perfect before, during, and after the wedding. I highly recommend The Lyceum!
Stephanie, 6/26/2018


We loved how straight forward they were with details and great deal for your money. Lovely people to work with!
Beatrice A, Married on 2/3/2018


This is a beautiful and affordable venue and the staff is excellent. We have booked this venue for October 2017 and can’t wait to start planning the day.
Deena, Married 10/21/2017


I always wanted to be married in a beautiful church, so for me The Lyceum was a dream come true! From the gorgeous stain glass windows to the picturesque front steps; it will make your special day even more unforgettable!
Shaena O, Married 1/20/2017


We booked the Lyceum for our wedding in July and the venue is absolutely gorgeous! It is perfect for having your wedding and reception all in one place and Cynthia is so flexible and great about responding to emails, answering questions, and helping you along the way. The beautifully restored hardwood floors, ceiling and stained glass windows are gorgeous. Could not have found a better place for our special day than The Lyceum!
Jami, Married on 06/10/2017


What a wonderful place that holds so much history and charm. Our night was certainly a fairy tale and this building just comes alive at night! The picture opportunities are amazing here! Cynthia and Brenda knew exactly what to do to make sure our special night was perfect. Huge shout out to Brenda for going above and beyond to organize in our last minute slight hiccup in plans. Our wedding was in November, and we couldn’t have been happier with sharing our special night with the Lyceum! Affordable and beautiful!
Stacey, Married 11/20/2016


Top notch service and the value is amazing! Cynthia and her staff were very accommodating in regards to the payment plan and deposit along with any questions or concerns that I had. The venue is absolutely GORGEOUS and our wedding day was amazing. One of my really good friends got married here 3 years ago and I absolutely fell in love with the venue as it is seriously stunning! The only downside is that the bridal suite is really small, but it’s a small price to pay for the cost and scenery of the venue. Overall five stars hands down!
Ashley, Married 10/28/2016


It’s a fantastic venue and the ladies who run the place are more than helpful. Anytime I had a question they answered.
Jennifer M, Married on 10/5/2016


The Lyceum is so gorgeous, inside and out! Cynthia, Linda and Brenda were so helpful. I attended an open house in January and got to see the beautiful architecture and stained glass windows. The venue itself can be set up in several different ways. We rented both sides of the venue Lyceta and the Lyceum, to have a ceremony side and a reception side. It worked out fabulous. There’s a small bridal suite where you can get ready in, but I recommend bringing a little fan (We got married in My and it was a little warm). There’s also an elevator for those guests who need accommodations. Brenda was there the day of the wedding and she was just amazing. She even helped cut our cake. If you want a classic, beautiful venue that has a “church feel” without being restricted on certain vendors, then this is the place for you!
Ashlyn, Married on 05/14/2016


Cynthia and her staff were awesome, especially Brenda! We did engagement and bridal photoshoots, as well our reception. They were so flexible about everything, especially the photoshoots.Brenda brought us wine and appetizers in the waiting room prior to our grand entrance. It was greatly appreciated by husband and me, as well as our attendants! beautiful venue and amazing staff!
Erin, Married on 03/05/2016


We fell in love with the Lyceum when we went to view it. The architecture, old wooden floors and walls, and the stained glass windows were so romantic! Cynthia, Linda and Brenda were all very helpful. Cynthia responded to my emails and phone calls within a reasonable time answering all my questions throughout the months of preparation (and I had a lot!). She was flexible in helping me prepare for the big day. Linda helped out with explaining how the floor plan could be set up best and helped with our lighting and sound checks. Brenda was the coordinator on the day-of and she kept everything and everyone in line. All of them were great in answering the million questions we had because I was so nervous. The Lyceum provided the tables and chairs set-up and break-down which was a GREAT help! On the day-of when we would have a guest come up to congratulate us, each and every one commented about how much the loved the venue and asked how we found it! It is a great deal, lovely place and will definitely make your big day feel like a romantic fairy tale. It’s charm can go with any theme and it was absolutely PERFECT for ours!
Audrie, Married on 01/16/2016


They were absolutely amazing. From the beginning Cynthia was so quick to respond and so patient with all of my questions. I’m a naturally anxious/perfectionist so of course I had about 30 questions in my very first email. They were so accommodating. I had a destination wedding and they were willing to open early on a Saturday so we could make some other appointments that day. It’s absolutely gorgeous. Our pictures with the stained glass are gorgeous and it really set the mood of our wedding. The woodwork is breathtaking. On the day of the wedding the caretaker made sure we knew where to go and even helped carry my train she was so, so sweet. Can’t give them enough high praise.
User5143054 via Wedding Wire, 2+ years ago


Beautiful place, so helpful when i needed it . Everything turned out amazing 🙂
Heather, Married on 04/24/2015


Beautiful venue, and romantic feel!
Amy, Married 6/5/2014


The Lyceum (in Glaveston) is a wonderful place for any wedding and/or reception. The historical look & feel of the church helps to create a perfect place for any wedding. The wooden floors, the stained glass windows, the stairs leading into The Lyceum – it really is a beautiful venue. The coordinator, Cynthia, is incredibly easy to work with and returns phone calls in a prompt manner. Galveston is a great place to host a wedding and The Lyceum is a must-see venue. My daughter actually found The Lyceum while looking in Galveston for a church – we couldn’t believe how reasonably priced it was and how easy Cynthia was to work with. A great facility at a great price — just wonderful. Thanks Cynthia!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Nancy, Married on 02/19/2011


LITTLE KNOWN GEM
I would have never known about this venue if my photographer hadn’t suggested it. Very classy venue for a wedding ceremony. The stain glass windows are absolutely gorgeous, and provide most of the decoration for the venue. The coordinator for the site is so nice and helpful, and she returns all your emails and phone calls promptly.
Jennifer S, Married on 10/18/2013


Cynthia and her staff are amazing to work with! They made everything run so smoothly. The Lyceum is GORGEOUS and I would recommend it to any bride!
Kim, Married on 02/19/2011


BREATH-TAKING
The Lyceum was the first venue we looked at. We were looking for something spiritual and historical. We wanted to get married in a church, but something interesting and just…special. As soon as we walked in, we were sold. The outside of the Lyceum is absolutely gorgeous, but the stained glass windows will really take your breath away. However, as beautiful as the Lyceum is, it’s the staff that really makes it one of a kind. Cynthia, Brenda, and Linda are an incredible team. They are kind, accommodating, ORGANIZED, and just flat-out resourceful. They meshed perfectly with my A-type personality. Cynthia responded quickly to my e-mails and made sure every detail was covered. Linda opened the Lyceum for our rehearsal and made sure we knew where everything was located. Brenda actually coordinated our wedding (which we did not expect) and was SUCH an asset to us. She fussed over me like a protective mother, and was so warm and considerate. She definitely knew what I needed and how I was feeling. Together, they were an incredible team. The guests loved the Lyceum, and I heard compliments all night long. Between All That Blooms and the Lyceum staff, they place just looked incredible! If you need a good florist, I highly recommend All That Blooms as well. If you are looking for smart, organized, and caring staff, a beautiful venue with some soul, an amazing price, and a great location, I highly recommend the Lyceum! All my guests came from Wisconsin and Ohio, so they just had a blast at Galveston Beach (even in the middle of October)!
Member of The Knot, Posted on 10/15/2013


Beautiful location for wedding and reception
Cynthia was great to work with coordinating everything prior to the wedding. I had access to the venue anytime I asked for it (I looked at it 4 times before booking!) You are able to take bridal portraits there for free and have your rehearsal for free. You can bring in your own alcohol, which saves a ton! The venue was opened the day of the wedding for all the deliveries and everything went very smooth. It is a BEAUTIFUL location–you get the church feel without having to be in a church. I loved having the ceremony on one side and the reception on the other! It made it great for my guests since most were out of town. It was goregeous and for a good price in the area. Tables and chairs were included in the rental and were actually nice. When I came back from the honeymoon, my refunded deposit was alwready in my mailbox–no hounding them to get my money back! I loved it, my husband loved it and all of our guests loved it.
Renee S, Married on 10/5/2012


Grand Locale
This was the best location at the end of the day because the stained glass windows were so colorful on their own that much decorating was not necessary. I had wanted to use the Lycetta for the ceremony but I didn’t like the fact that the door to enter wasn’t in the center of the room! So the main room (Lyceum) was divided in two; the first half was for the ceremony while the back half was for the reception. Turned out beautifully. Also, Cynthia was a great help, answering every question I had, as well as Brenda who took charge at the last minute and made things flow. Wonderful women. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a simple yet elegant wedding or any event for that matter.
Adwoa D, Married on 9/29/2012


Beautiful Venue
We used this venue for our ceremony and it was absolutely stunning. The stained glass makes for beautiful pictures and the choir loft makes the music resonate through the whole venue. The staff is super helpful and very easy to contact. They will help you run the day and make everything perfect for an unbelievable price. It would be great to have the reception here as well, but our wedding was too big for that. I HIGHLY recommend this gorgeous historic building.
Ellen D, Married on 7/21/2012


Galveston’s Next Big Wedding Venue
The Lyceum is the original Sanctuary of the First Lutheran Church in Galveston, built in the 1850s. Over time, it has been used for many things, including the gym of a middle school. After Hurricane Ike, they decided to restore the building to its original beauty, complete with the stained glass windows from the 1850s, and boy did they do a tremendous job! Now the Lyceum is available for events and wedding ceremonies of all kinds, and it is perfect! Gorgeous for a wedding ceremony, reception, or both. With an adjoining room with a stage, perfect for a DJ/Band and a dance floor, a full prep-kitchen downstairs, and a Bride’s room, it was perfect for my wedding and reception, and very economical, I might add. And Cynthia, the wedding coordinator is very helpful!
Coley D, Married on 5/25/2012